Admin Login

U21s start year with victory in Gowna

By Susan Tue 3rd Jan

Hastings Cup v Roscommon
Match Report

Cavan 3-15 Roscommon 0-14
2nd January in Gowna.

Cavan Under 21s got 2017 off to a good start by virtue of a 3-15 to 0-14 win over Roscommon in round 1 of the Hastings Cup. The game was played in Gowna in almost perfect conditions.

While Cavan had plenty of possession, they were rusty and had several missed chances in the first quarter. The visitors by contrast were clinical and raced into a 0-6 to 0-0 lead after 13 minutes with points from Aidan Murray, Eoin McCormack, Cian McManus and Michael Cox from play and Brian Kelly and the superbly accurate Hubert Darcy with frees.

The hosts then kicked into action and netted twice in a minute to level things up. Bryan Magee palmed a good team move to the net before Caoimhín O’Reilly calmly finished to the bottom right corner of Paul Whelan’s net. Daire McEnroe put Cavan into the lead with a free on 16 minutes, a lead they wouldn’t relinquish.

Roscommon registered two frees by Darcy but Cavan were now taking control. David Wilson, Peter Corrigan and McEnroe (2, 1f) all hit the target to give Cavan a 2-5 to 0-8 interval lead.

Cavan dominated possession from the restart as the midfield sector were now on top. The Breffni lads kept the scoreboard ticking as both sides made changes. Ryan Connolly impressed kicking four points, two from the 45m line. In the tenth minute, Bryan Magee raced through the centre to raise Cavan’s third green flag. Caoimhín O’Reilly, Keenan Donohoe, Daire McEnroe, Pierce Smith (2), and John Fitzpatrick also hit the target to ensure victory.

While there’s lots to work on, Niall Lynch and his backroom team of Ronan Carolan, Michael Hannon, Micheál Lyng, Dermot Sheridan and Brian Clarke will be happy with this performance. The back line and midfield were solid and nine different players registered scores.

Cavan play round 2 next Saturday 7th v Longford at a Cavan venue tbc and then travel to TEG Cusack Park, Mullingar for round 3 on Saturday 14th.

Scorers for Cavan: Bryan Magee (2-0), Caoimhín O’Reilly (1-1, 1f), Ryan Connolly (0-4, 1f), Daire McEnroe (0-4, 2f), Pierce Smith (0-2, 1f), David Wilson, Peter Corrigan, Keenan Donohoe, John Fitzpatrick (0-1 each).

Scorers for Roscommon: Hubert Darcy (0-7, 6f), Cian McManus (0-3, 1f), Brian Kelly (0-1f), Aidan Murray, Eoin McCormack, Michael Cox (0-1 each).

CAVAN: Mark Fegan (Denn), Sean O’Connor (Cootehill Celtic), David Wilson (Lacken), Shane Fitzpatrick (Belturbet), Brendan Argue (Bailieborough), Eoin Sommerville (Ramor Utd), Stuart Dunne (Belturbet), Thomas Galligan (Lacken), Bryan Magee (Cuchulainns), Pierce Smith (Crosserlough), Ryan Connolly (Drumlane), Peter Corrigan (Kingscourt), Daire McEnroe (Castlerahan), Caoimhín O’Reilly (Butlersbridge), Keenan Donohoe (Cavan Gaels).

Subs: Sean Hendrick (Munterconnaught) for Donohoe, Rhys Clarke (Bailieborough) for Corrigan, Killian Maguire (Ramor United) for Magee, Jason McMahon (Killinkere) for Dunne, Thomas Edward Donohoe (Denn) for O’Reilly, John Fitzpatrick (Butlersbridge) for Connolly.

ROSCOMMON: Paul Whelan, Jack Casey, Keelan Beirne, Noel Watson, Shane McDonnell, John Duffy, Michael Cox, Tom Butler, Luke Kelly, Eoin McCormack, Cian McManus, Aidan Murray, Hubert Darcy, Aidan Brogan, Brian Kelly.

Subs: Cian McKeon for Murray, Ciaran McHugh for Watson, Kieran Connaughton for Kelly, Kieran White for Kelly, David Connaughton for McKeon, John Donohoe for Beirne.

Referee: Patrick Maguire (Longford).

By Susan Tue 3rd Jan

Related News

View All

Main Sponsor

Competition Sponsors