Admin Login

Oliver Plunkett Cup goes to Ramor Utd

By Susan Mon 24th Oct

Oliver Plunkett Cup goes to Ramor Utd
Oliver Plunkett Cup goes to Ramor Utd

Hotel Kilmore SFC Final Replay
Ramor United 0-10 Castlerahan 0-08

Match Report:

Ramor United claimed their first Senior Football Championship title since 1992 with a two point win over neighbours Castlerahan in yesterday’s replay.

The sides were level at 0-5 apiece at the break.

Castlerahan would dominate the opening ten minutes and raced into a 0-5 to 0-1 lead with points from Cian Mackey (3, 1f) and Stephen Cooney (2). The Ramor point coming from the boot of Conor Bradley.

Ramor United however responded well and would score four unanswered points to level it by half time, Adrian Cole getting two and one each from Cathal Maguire and Conor Bradley (free).

The second half battle was intense with both sides trying to break down the opposition defence. There was little between these sides but Ramor found scores just that little bit easier to come by.

Jack Brady takes on Caolan McBreen. Photo: Adrian Donohoe.

Jack Brady takes on Caolan McBreen. Photo: Adrian Donohoe.

Cian McEnroe opened the scoring to put Castlerahan 0-6 to 0-5 up. Ramor Utd replied with points from Adrian Cole and Conor Bradley to put them ahead after 15 minutes.

Jack Brady was introduced and made an immediate impact by putting the Virginia side two up on the 19 minute mark. Cian Mackey got two points one from play and one free but it wasn’t enough as Ramor got two of their own, Adrian Cole who picked up the man of the march award with one and a Killian Maguire free with the other deep into injury time meant Ramor would finish victorious.

Ramor United play next Sunday 30th October 2.30pm in the Ulster Club Quarter Final in the Athletic Grounds where they take on Armagh Champions, Maghery.


Scorers for Ramor United:
A Cole (0-3), C Bradley (0-3, 2f), S Monaghan (0-1), C Maguire (0-1), J Brady (0-1), K Maguire (0-1f).

Scorers for Castlerahan:
C Mackey (0-5, 2f), S Cooney (0-2), C McEnroe (0-1).

Ramor United: Liam Brady, Micheal Smart, Matthew Magee, James McEnroe, Mark Magee, Brian O’Connell, Eoin Somerville, Stephen Monaghan, Simon Cadden, Cathal Maguire, Conor Bradley, James Bradley, James Brady, Adrian Cole, Kevin Mulvany.

Subs: Jack Brady for Mulvany (38 mins), Killian Maguire for Monaghan (51 mins), Jack Doyle for James Brady (53 mins), Gary McNamee for J Bradley (57 mins).

Castlerahan: Jamie Leahy, Stephen Cooney, Brian Coleman, Enda O’Connell, Fergal Reilly, Ronan Flanagan, Caolan McBreen, David Wright, Cormac Daly, Daniel Lynch, Cian McEnroe, Shane McSweeney, Oisin O’Connell, Sean Brady, Cian Mackey.

Subs: Paul Brady for Lynch (50 mins).

Referee: Noel Mooney (Cavan Gaels).

By Susan Mon 24th Oct

Related News

View All

Main Sponsor

Competition Sponsors