Admin Login

MATCH REPORT: Minors progress to All Ireland Semi Final

By mark Mon 7th Aug

MATCH REPORT: Minors progress to All Ireland Semi Final
MATCH REPORT: Minors progress to All Ireland Semi Final

Electric Ireland All-Ireland Minor Football Championship Quarter Final
CAVAN 1-11 GALWAY 0-11

Páirc Seán MacDiarmada, Carrick On Shannon
5th August 2017

Cavan minor footballers have qualified for the All Ireland semi final for the first time since 1974 with a fantastic win over a fancied Galway side in Carrick-On-Shannon on Saturday afternoon.

The tribesmen dominated the opening quarter and led by three (Padraic Costello, Matthias Barrett and a Darragh Silke free) before Oisin Pierson opened Cavan’s tally on 14 minutes. This was quickly followed by a Tiarnan Reilly point. Further scores from Padraic Costello, Darragh Silke (free) and Conor Campbell for Galway and two from Ruairi Curran (one beauty with the outside of the right boot) and Philip Rogers left the minimum between the sides at the break 0-6 to 0-5 in favour of the Connacht champions.

As they did in the first, Galway opened the second half the brighter and would lead 0-10 to 0-6 on the three quarter mark. From here on it was all Cavan as they outscored their opponents 1-5 to 0-1 to seal a famous victory.

Oisin Pierson sent a bullet to the roof of the Galway net giving keeper Oran Burke no chance. Cian Madden who was magnificent throughout scored three top class points and two more from Pierson (one free) sealed a famous victory.

Cavan now play Kerry in the semi final on August 20th in Croke Park.

Scorers for Cavan: Oisin Pierson 1-3 (1f), Cian Madden 0-4 (1f), Ruairi Curran 0-2, Tiernan Reilly 0-1, Philip Rogers 0-1.

Scorers for Galway: Darragh Silke 0-5 (4f), Padraic Costello 0-3 (2f), Matthias Barrett 0-1, Evan Murphy 0-1, Conor Campbell 0-1.

CAVAN: Gary O’Rourke (Ballyhaise), John Cooke (Crosserlough), Evaan Fortune (Cavan Gaels), Killian Brady (Ramor United), Philip Nulty (Knockbride), Cormac Timoney (Ballinagh), Danny Cusack (Lavey), Ronan Patterson (Ramor United), James Smith (Crosserlough), Ruairi Curran (Swanlinbar), Cian Madden (Gowna), Philip Rogers (Knockbride), Oisin Pierson (Gowna), Patrick Lynch (Crosserlough), Tiarnan Reilly (Drung).

Subs: Ryan Coyle (Lacken) for Brady (22 mins, BC), Oisin Kiernan (Denn) for Timoney (BC, 32 mins), Niall McCabe (Knockbride) for Reilly (42 mins), Sean Keogan (Ramor United) for Lynch (46 mins).

Stephen Lovett (Killygarry), Ryan Madden (Gowna), Patrick Meade (Kingscourt), Callum Lynch (Drumalee), Sean Martin (Redhills), Kevin Hendrick (Munterconnaught), Peter Galligan ((Lacken), Shane Duffy (Kingscourt), Ben Smith (Ramor United), Karl Cosgrove (Castlerahan), Algirdas Mockus (Ramor United).

GALWAY: Oran Burke, Eoin McFadden, Sean Mulkerrin, Colin Murray, Jack Glyn, Sean Fitzgerald, Liam Boyle, Matthias Barrett, Evan Murphy, Brian Harlowe, Darragh Silke, Liam Costello, Conor Campbell, Padraic Costello, Daniel Kenny.

Subs: Martin Kerrigan for Harlowe (HT), MacDara Geraghty for L Costello (HT), Matthew Tierney for Geraghty (55 mins).

Referee: James Bermingham (Cork).

By mark Mon 7th Aug

Related News

View All

Main Sponsor

Competition Sponsors