Admin Login

Match Report: Hastings Cup Rd 2 v Longford

By Susan Tue 10th Jan

Match Report: Hastings Cup Rd 2 v Longford
Match Report: Hastings Cup Rd 2 v Longford

Hastings Cup v Longford

Cavan 1-8 Longford 1-12
7th January in Sheelin Park, Ballymachugh.

Cavan Under 21s hosted neighbours Longford in Rd 2 of the Hastings Cup last Saturday afternoon in Sheelin Park, Ballymachugh.

The first half was a close encounter throughout. Peter Lynn opened the scoring for the visitors. Cavan then scored 1-2 without reply. Daire McEnroe with a free either side of Ryan Connollys goal, nicely finished following a good run through the Longford defence. The sides went point for point for the remainder of the half, the Cavan scores all from Ryan Connolly (two frees and one from play). Longford raised a green flag on 20 minutes when Russell Brady ran through the Cavan defence and finished neatly to the bottom left corner. Half time score, Cavan 1-5 Longford 1-4.

Cavan went three clear with frees from Ryan Connolly and Daire McEnroe. From then on Longford took over in the scoring sector and out scored Cavan 0-8 to 0-1. Longford made changes and had a number of players who impressed including Jayson Matthews who contributed two points after his introduction.

Both players and management will be somewhat disappointed with today’s performance particularly in the second half scoring only three points from frees. They travel to Moste for round 3 on next Saturday 14th v Westmeath.

Scorers for Cavan: Ryan Connolly (1-5, 4f), Daire McEnroe (0-3, 3f).

Scorers for Longford: Shane Kenny (0-4, 3f), Russell Brady (1-0), Jayson Matthews (0-2, 1f), Nigel Rabbitte (0-1), Peter Hanley (0-1), Peter Lynn (0-1), Darryl Carrigy (0-1), Aiden McElligott (0-1), David McGivney (0-1).

CAVAN: Fergal O’Rourke (Laragh United), Sean O’Connor (Cootehill Celtic), David Wilson (Lacken), Callum Mussi (Mullahoran), Dillon Raythorne (Templeport), Cormac Daly (Castlerahan), Stuart Dunne (Belturbet), Thomas Galligan (Lacken), Killian Maguire (Ramor United), Pierce Smith (Crosserlough), Ryan Connolly (Drumlane), Rhys Clarke (Bailieborough), Thomas Edward Donohoe (Denn), Daire McEnroe (Castlerahan), Conor Smith (Killygarry).

Subs: Jason McMahon (Killinkere) for Raythorne, Peter Corrigan (Kingscourt) for McEnroe, Bryan Magee (Cuchulainns) for Maguire, Caoimhin Carney (Cootehill Celtic) for C Smith, Evan Doughty (Cuchulainns) for Donohoe, Darragh Gannon (Killygarry) for McMahon (BC).

LONGFORD: Conor Gallagher, James Moran, Enda Macken, Kevin Sorohan, Eoin Higgins, Dessie Reynolds, Russell Brady, Shane Kenny, Peter Hanley, Cillian Lee, Nigel Rabbitte, Peter Lynn, Robbie Clarke, Darryl Carrigy, Darragh Doherty.

Subs Used: Cathal McCabe, Aiden McElligott, Daire Duggan, David McGivney, Jayson Matthews, Joe Kelly.

By Susan Tue 10th Jan

Related News

View All

Main Sponsor

Competition Sponsors