Admin Login

Match Report: Celtic Challenge v Louth

By Susan Thu 17th May

Match Report: Celtic Challenge v Louth
Match Report: Celtic Challenge v Louth

Celtic Challenge

Rd 2 Louth 1-11 Cavan 0-8

Wed 9th May


Cavan opened their Celtic Challenge U17 hurling campaign against Louth in Mullagh in round 2 after round one was postponed last week until later in May. Played in almost perfect conditions, this was a competitive game up to the final quarter with the Louth lads finishing stronger to run out six point winners.

Louth tallies-man Sean Kerrisk opened the scoring after two minutes with a free quickly followed by a James Smith free to equalise. Both sides exchanged scores to leave the visitors 0-4 to 0-3 ahead after eighteen minutes with Louth points from Jack Tobin (2) & Sean Kerrisk. The Cavan scores came from Cootehill duo Conor Shalvey and Brandon McGerty. 

Cavan then had their best period of the game scoring four unanswered points for the remainder of the half from James Smith (3) and Philip McCabe to put Cavan three up at the break, 0-7 to 0-4.

The only green flag of the game was raised when Sean Kerrisk netted early in the second half to level the game. Louth would dominate the remainder of the half scoring seven points to Cavan’s one. The Cavan lads battled throughout led by Conor Masterson in defence who was suburb and deservedly received the ‘Best & Fairest’ award by the match referee. Ross O’Gorman created a spark in front of goal when moved into the attack but the Cavan lads just couldn’t convert their chances. For Louth, Sean Kerrisk, T.J. Doheny and Conor Quigley all impressed with the latter picking up the ‘Best & Fairest’ award for the visitors.

Full Time Score Cavan: 0-8(8) Louth 1-11(14).

Scorers for Cavan: James Smith (0-5, 4f), Conor Shalvey, Brandon McGerty, Philip McCabe (0-1 each).

Scorers for Louth: Sean Kerrisk (1-6, 4f), TJ Doheny (0-2), Jack Tobin (0-2), Ben Goss Kieran (0-1).

CAVAN: Ross O’Gorman (Annalee Gaels), Fionn Fleming (St. Feilims), Jamie Masterson (Ballymachugh), Dwayne Mulvey (Ballymachugh), Sean McMahon (Cootehill Celtic), Conor Masterson (Ballymachugh), Cian Farrelly (Cootehill Celtic), James Smith (St. Feilims), Philip McCabe (Cootehill Celtic), Brandon McGerty (Cootehill Celtic), Conor Smith (Annalee Gaels), Odhran Keating (St. Feilims), Conor Shalvey (Cootehill Celtic), Cormac Smith (Annalee Gaels), Gary Tully (Annalee Gaels), Tadgh Larkin (Ballymachugh), Cian Smith (Cootehill Celtic), Colin McCauley (Cootehill Celtic), Conor Bannon (Cootehill Celtic), Caelum Faughnan (Cootehill Celtic), Declan Mernagh (East Cavan Gaels), Gavin Fitzpatrick (Cootehill Celtic), David Emmo (Annalee Gaels), Morgan Hall (Cootehill Celtic), Aaron Crowe (Cootehill Celtic), Conor Harten (Ballymachugh), Dylan Greenan (Annalee Gaels), Kian Donohoe (Cootehill Celtic).

LOUTH: Jay Hughes (St Fechins), Craig Callan (Naomh Moninne), Conor Quigley (Knockbridge), Neil Boylan (St Fechins), Kyle Rafferty (Naomh Moninne), Eoghan Ryan (St Fechins), Ciaran Brennan (St Fechins), TJ Doheny (St Kevins), Ben Goss Kieran (Knockbridge), Michael Belton (Knockbridge), Sean Kerrisk (St Fechins), Seamus Birch (Mattock Rangers), Josh Murtagh (St Fechins), Jack Tobin (Mattock Rangers), Tommy Metcalfe (Mattock Rangers). 

Best & Fairest: Louth: Conor Quigley, Cavan: Conor Masterson.

By Susan Thu 17th May

Related News

View All

Main Sponsor

Competition Sponsors