Admin Login

Keen Interest in Convention

By Susan Tue 10th Dec

Keen Interest in Convention
Keen Interest in Convention

Cavan GAA Annual Convention takes place this Wednesday 11th December from 7.00pm in Hotel Kilmore, Cavan. Registration for delegates is from 6.30. There is keen interest as a new Chairman will be elected. There are also elections for PRO and Ulster Council Delegates positions. 

Secretary’s, Treasurer’s and other outgoing officer reports and review of 2019 will be presented. All reports will be available on website after convention.

Tom Boylan (Ballyhaise) is nominated for the position of President and will replace outgoing Brendan Keaney (Killygarry) who returns to a Vice-President for 2020. Tom Lynch, Gabriel Kelly and Peter Galligan have been proposed as Vice-Presidents.

There will be three votes at convention, for the positions of Chairperson, PRO and Ulster Council Delegates.

Paddy Sheanon (Killygarry) and Kieran Callaghan (Denn) are contesting the Chairman’s position as Gerry Brady steps down due to 5 year rule. 

Susan Brady (Ballyhaise) and Sean Smith (Denn) will contest the PRO position while there are three nominations for two positions as Ulster Council Delegates, Gerry Brady (Gowna) (outgoing Chairman), Kevin Reilly (Killygarry)(sitting Ulster Delegate) and Gerry McKiernan (Swanlinbar)(outgoing CCC Chairman).

Mark O’Rourke (Ballyhaise) vacates the PRO role after five years and has been nominated for Vice-Chair. Outgoing Ulster Delegate Tom O’Reilly (Shannon Gaels) is nominated for Central Council Delegate. Outgoing Coaching Officer Martin McGovern is not seeking re-election and Kevin Sheils (Kingscourt) is nominated for that position. All three positions are uncontested.

All other officers are to be returned for 2020.


Full list of nominations:

Uachtarán (President): Tom Boylan (Ballyhaise)

Leas Uachtarán (Vice Presidents): Packie Smith, John Andy McCabe, Jim McDonnell, Peter Brady, John Foy, Phil Smith, Paddy Carolan, Dan Daly, Brendan Keaney, Tom Lynch, Gabriel Kelly, Peter Galligan

Cathaoirleach (Chairman): Paddy Sheanon, Kieran Callaghan

Leas-Cathaoirleach (Vice Chairman): Mark O’Rourke

Leas- Runaí (Asst. Secretary): Angela Hamilton

Cisteóir (Treasurer): Martin Cahill

Leas Cisteóir (Asst. Treasurer): John Keating

Oifigeach Caipreamh Poiblí (P.R.O): Susan Brady, Sean Smith

Teachtaí do Comhairle Uladh (Ulster Council Reps): Gerry Brady, Kevin Reilly, Gerry McKiernan

Teachtaí do Árd Comhairle (Central Council Rep.): Tom O’Reilly

Oifigeach Óiliúna (Coaching Officer): Kevin Sheils

Oifigeach Cultúir (Cultural Officer): Eugene Kiernan

Congress Delegates: Chairman, Secretary, Treasurer, Central Council Delegate, 1 Other TBC

Ulster Convention: TBC

The position of Development Officer is now an appointed one along with Children’s Officer. Outgoing Development Officer Michael Reynolds is not seeking re-appointment and Kevin Smith (Crosserlough) has been appointed and was ratified at the last county committee meeting.

Youth Board Chairperson will be appointed by the new county chairperson after convention and Children’s Officer will be appointed at the next county committee meeting.

The Convention Book will be available to download from start of convention.

By Susan Tue 10th Dec

Related News

View All

Main Sponsor

Competition Sponsors